Tools and Models

Our special competence lies in spatial analysis and simulation, geographic information systems and advanced visualisation techniques. Our tools and models for spatial modeling, analysis and optimisation are continuously being further developed, so we always apply state-of-the-art methods for spatial analysis and data processing.

Our tools und models enable an early consideration of realistic possibilities, limits and consequences of spatial development and planning processes. Most models are scalable both spatially and in terms of content. Thus, our tools and models are solution-oriented to the respective study area and the specific purpose of a study.



Population Projection

Population Projection

S&W has a long experience in the development and application of demographic forecast models. Population and household forecast models are central components of dynamic spatial development simulations such as the IRPUD or ILUMASS model. S&W's demographic forecast models are continuously ...

Population Disaggregation Model

Population Disaggregation Model

For the development and implementation of a target-oriented adaptation strategy for the different areas of technical and social infrastructure and services, small-scale information on the age-structural development of the population and the resulting change in demand is required. With the ...

Accessibility Models

Accessibility Models

The accessibility models by S&W are among the most recognised models of their kind in Europe due to their theoretical foundation, practical and political relevance and their visualisation techniques. They are used at all spatial levels (including cross-border) from the local to the regional, ...

Public Transport Module

Public Transport Module

The public transport module enables an uncomplicated integration of digital timetable data into the accessibility analyses with S&W's accessibility models. It is used at all spatial levels from municipal to regional, national and European scales. Basically, the public transport module is ...

Scenario Analyses

Scenario Analyses

By analysing scenarios, the effects of different planning measures can be estimated before they are implemented. What-if analyses enable well-founded, comparative assessments and simplify decision-making processes. The interactions between population development, spatial structure and mobility ...

IRPUD Model

IRPUD Model

The IRPUD model is a dynamic simulation model of intraregional location and mobility decisions in an urban region. It was developed in a project for the German Research Council at the Institute of Spatial Planning of the University of Dortmund and has been applied in several projects for the ...

ILUMASS Model

ILUMASS Model

The ILUMASS model is an integrated, completely microscopic simulation model of land use, transport and environmental impacts in urban regions. It was developd in the ILUMASS project (Integrated Land Use Modeling and Transportation System Simulation) funded by the Federal Ministry of Education and ...

SASI Model

SASI Model

The regional economic model SASI was developed by the partners of S&W in co-operation with the Technical University of Vienna in the EU project SASI (Spatial and Socio-economic Impacts of Transport Investments and Transport System Improvements). The model has since been applied in several EU ...

Raster Model

Raster Model

The Raster model is a disaggregate model of environmental impacts of urban land use and transport. It was developed in the EU project PROPOLIS (Planning and Research of Policies for Land Use and Transport for Increasing Urban Sustainability). Combined with a land-use transport model as the IRPUD ...

Time-Space Maps

Time-Space Maps

Modern transport technologies reduce the time to overcome space; measured in units of time, space is 'shrinking'. Time-space maps represent this interaction between space and time cartographically. In time-space maps the distance between two points is not proportional to their physical distance (as ...

Modelle und Tools

Eine besondere Kompetenz von S&W liegt in der quantitativen Abbildung von räumlichen Strukturen und Entwicklungsprozessen. Unsere räumlichen Analyse-, Simulations- und Optiomierungsmodelle werden kontinuierlich weiterentwickelt, so wenden wir immer die modernsten Methoden der raumbezogenen Informationsverarbeitung an.

Unsere Modelle und Tools ermöglichen eine frühzeitige Betrachtung realistischer Möglichkeiten, Grenzen und Handlungsfolgen. Die meisten Modelle und Tools sind räumlich und inhaltlich skalierbar. Sie werden projektbezogen und lösungsorientiert an den jeweiligen Untersuchungsraum und die konkreten Untersuchungsfragen angepasst.



Bevölkerungsprognosemodell

Bevölkerungsprognosemodell

S&W verfügt über eine lange Erfahrung in der Entwicklung und Anwendung demografischer Prognosemodelle. So zählen Bevölkerungs- und Haushaltsprognosemodelle zu zentralen Komponenten dynamischer Raumentwicklungssimulationen wie im IRPUD- oder ILUMASS-Modell. Die demografischen Prognosemodelle ...

Erreichbarkeitsmodell

Erreichbarkeitsmodell

Die von S&W konzipierten Erreichbarkeitsmodelle zählen aufgrund ihrer theoretischen Fundierung, praktischen und politischen Relevanz und ihrer Visualisierungstechniken zu den anerkanntesten Modellen dieser Art in Europa. Sie werden auf allen räumlichen Ebenen (auch grenzübergreifend) vom ...

ÖPNV-Modul

ÖPNV-Modul

Das ÖPNV-Modul ermöglicht eine unkomplizierte Einbindung von digitalen Fahrplandaten in die Erreichbarkeitsanalyse mit den Erreichbarkeitsmodellen von S&W. Es wird auf allen räumlichen Ebenen vom kommunalen über den regionalen, nationalen bis zum europäischen Maßstab eingesetzt. ...

Szenarioanalysen

Szenarioanalysen

Durch die Analyse von Szenarien lassen sich die Wirkungen unterschiedlicher Maßnahmen zur Sicherung der Daseinsvorsorge vor ihrer Umsetzung abschätzen. Was-wäre-wenn-Analysen ermöglichen fundierte, vergleichende Bewertungen und vereinfachen Entscheidungsprozesse. Die Wechselwirkungen zwischen ...

Flächen- und Standortanalyse

Flächen- und Standortanalyse

Zur Flächen- und Standortanalyse wird je nach Untersuchungszweck ein Methodenmix aus Optimierungsverfahren, multikriteriellen Bewertungsverfahren, GIS-Analysen, Erreichbarkeitsmodellierungen und sonstiger Spezialmethoden angewandt. Zur Ermittlung geeigneter Flächen und Standorte können ...

IRPUD-Modell

IRPUD-Modell

Das IRPUD-Modell ist ein dynamisches Simulationsmodell intraregionaler Standortwahl- und Mobilitätsentscheidungen in einer Stadtregion. Es wurde im Rahmen eines DFG-Sonder­­forschungs­­­bereichs am Institut für Raumplanung der Universität Dortmund (IRPUD) entwickelt und ist seither in ...

ILUMASS-Modell

ILUMASS-Modell

Das ILUMASS-Modell ist ein integriertes, durchgehend als Mikrosimulation ausgeführtes Modell von Flächennutzung, Verkehr und Umweltauswirkungen in Stadtregionen. Es entstand in dem vom Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung geförderten Projekt ILUMASS (Integrated Land Use Modelling and ...

SASI-Modell

SASI-Modell

Das regionalökonomische Modell SASI wurde von den Partnern von S&W in Zusammenarbeit mit der Technischen Universität Wien im Rahmen des EU-Projekts SASI (Spatial and Socio-economic Impacts of Transport Investments and Transport System Improvements) entwickelt. Das Modell wurde seither in ...

Raster-Umwelt-Modell

Raster-Umwelt-Modell

Das Raster-Umwelt-Modell ist ein kleinräumiges Modell der Umweltauswirkungen der städtischen Flächennutzung und des Stadtverkehrs. Es enstand im Rahmen des EU-Projekts PROPOLIS (Planning and Research of Policies for Land Use and Transport for Increasing Urban Sustainability). Gekoppelt mit einem ...

Zeitkarten

Zeitkarten

Moderne Verkehrsmittel verkürzen den zur Raumüberwindung erforderlichen Zeitaufwand: gemessen in Zeiteinheiten 'schrumpft' der Raum. Zeitkarten stellen diese Wechselwirkung von Raum und Zeit kartographisch dar. In Zeitkarten sind die Abstände zwischen zwei Punkten auf der Karte nicht ...